Anonymous
Please Login or Register  
Welcome to the new EC!
Random Babes   
 





Main Menu   
 

Event Calendar
 
December 2017
  1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
No events today.

Teamspeak   
 
IP: 174.127.65.20:8767

http://www.easycompanygaming.com :: View topic - Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1
Forum Index  ·  Usergroups  ·  Members  ·  Edit your profile  ·  Search  ·  Login, Check Messages
Arcade  ·  Forum FAQ  ·  Ranks  ·  Board Rules  ·  Staff  ·  Statistics  ·  Log in


Search for at
http://www.easycompanygaming.com Advanced Search

 
 Recent Topics   Next 6 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
 Well this is it News, Updates & Input Rain 8 Wed Sep 27, 2017 1:38 pm
Lt_John_Wayne View latest post
 It's Finally Happening! General Discussion & Off Topic stunt 17 Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:57 am
Artorias View latest post
 All Weapons AWE server down All Weapons Server drhouse5524 16 Tue Aug 29, 2017 7:12 pm
Artorias View latest post
 Battlefield 1 BF4 Discussion nightmare 29 Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:01 am
Nickenstein View latest post
 Winter Break General Discussion & Off Topic -=EC=-Gimp 3 Tue Dec 27, 2016 4:17 pm
GaryBusey View latest post
 Windows 7 64 bit General Discussion & Off Topic -=EC=-Gimp 11 Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:51 pm
-=EC=-Gimp View latest post
Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1
http://www.easycompanygaming.com Forum Index -> COD2 Discussion
Post new topic Reply to topic printer-friendly view
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Durus
Newbie


blank.png



Joined: Dec 06, 2013
Posts: 9

Reputation: 3.9

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2013 11:59 pm Post subject: No icon Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

Hey guys I am trying to jump back into COD2 after being gone for a few years.  I installed the program no problem and the single player works just fine but, anytime I try and run the multi player I get an error saying that "COD2 has stopped suddenly" and it closes.  Currently I have all the current drivers installed and I am running Windows 8.1.
Back to top
Rain
BOD
BOD


usa.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 22, 2013
Posts: 86

Reputation: 60.2

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: redmms250713
Origin ID: redmms
Steam ID: redmms250713

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 12:33 am Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

with windows 7, i need to have a USB mic, or something that has a mic (ie: web cam) and it works fine, not sure why it does that but thats what my problem was....
Back to top
Visit poster's website
lecoyotte
Sr. Admin
Sr. Admin


france.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 29, 2013
Age: 46
Posts: 234
Location: france
Reputation: 95.6

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: micklecoyotte
Origin ID: lecoyotte59
Steam ID: lecoyotte

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:25 am Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

Very Happy hi durus updates its directx because my problem was because I have seven windows Wink
--------------=EC=--------------
Back to top
EC Donation
Artorias
Sr. Admin
Sr. Admin


usa.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 29, 2013
Posts: 260
Location: Chicago
Reputation: 100.6

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: knightartorias
Origin ID: knightartorias97
Steam ID: knightartorias

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:20 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

I have an issue,
where if I unplug my mic,
the game goes on strike.

Tech help in Haikus, everyone.
Back to top
-=EC=-Gimp
BOD
BOD


usa.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 28, 2013
Posts: 778
Location: Chicago
Reputation: 206.2

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: olderwomen
Origin ID: Gimp63
Steam ID: Gimp63

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:33 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

The issue Arty is asking about and the one Rain pointed out are known bugs with CoD2 and the Realtek HD integrated audio driver.  You have to have a mic plugged in for it to work.

I don't know anything about Windows 8, sorry.
Back to top
stunt
Sr. Admin
Sr. Admin


usa.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Nov 02, 2013
Posts: 159
Location: Alabama
Reputation: 77
votes: 1

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: dcoy20
Origin ID: stuntb0yFL
Steam ID: d_coy20

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:04 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

When you installed did you install DX9? I always bypass that since DX 11 comes with 7 and it works fine. Don't know why SP would work and not MP. Seeing as MP has voice chat, the usb problem makes sense, althought I've never personally had that problem. Also, I don't/haven't tried CoD 2 on Win 8 so I can't really shed any light on the subject. Hope ya figure it out.
Back to top
EC Donation
drhouse5524
Retired


usa.png



Joined: Nov 10, 2013
Posts: 141

Reputation: 70.8

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: c0rrupts3ct0r

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 12:34 am Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

in 8.1 COD2 takes ages to go from the splash screen to the main menu, sometimes not even going AT ALL. win 8 is just not compatible with cod2... so that is why i have a win 7 partition set up just for that.
Back to top
Durus
Newbie


blank.png



Joined: Dec 06, 2013
Posts: 9

Reputation: 3.9

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 3:08 am Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

drhouse5524 wrote (View Post):
in 8.1 COD2 takes ages to go from the splash screen to the main menu, sometimes not even going AT ALL. win 8 is just not compatible with cod2... so that is why i have a win 7 partition set up just for that.


I think that is the way I am going to have to go.  Unfortunately when I bought this computer off Craigslist it was listed as a bunch of new in box parts.  Well the guy ended up putting everything together and used a pirated copy of Windows 7.  Of course this was not known until afterwards.  Well when the mother board ended up dieing on me back in August I ended up going with a legal copy of windows 8 seeing as that will be the future unfortunately.  I have all my old XP stuff but from what I have been reading windows 8 does not dual boot with XP.  I would need pro.  

I will give the USB mic fix a try and report back.
Back to top
Durus
Newbie


blank.png



Joined: Dec 06, 2013
Posts: 9

Reputation: 3.9

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:15 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

Well got it working by using the USB microphone trick.  Plugged it in and it fired right up.
Back to top
EC Donation
-=EC=-Gimp
BOD
BOD


usa.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 28, 2013
Posts: 778
Location: Chicago
Reputation: 206.2

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: olderwomen
Origin ID: Gimp63
Steam ID: Gimp63

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 11:49 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

Durus wrote (View Post):
Well got it working by using the USB microphone trick.  Plugged it in and it fired right up.


Good to know this game will last through one more version of Windows.

:)

I think that makes four?  XP, Vista, 7, & 8, right?
Back to top
Nickenstein
BOD
BOD


blank.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 31, 2013
Posts: 497

Reputation: 150.2

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:46 am Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

It won't last much longer.

MS are shifting in the direction of making you have to buy everything through MS store. And making it harder and harder to run anything that is not digitally signed by MS and authorised to be on that store.

They will get 30%+ on every single software sale.

They are trying to turn Windows into and MS owned version of iTunes, basically.

(Which is why the Win8 interface looks like a fucking phone, and everything is an 'app'.)

Fucking awful.
Back to top
Nightmare_
Newbie


usa.png



Joined: Nov 13, 2013
Posts: 11
Location: StL, MO
Reputation: 15.4

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: yurworstnightmare

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 5:44 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Does anyone know how to make COD2 work on Win 8.1 Reply with quote

I'm with Nick... I love my iphone... but I want my pc to be a pc. COD2 CANT DIEEEEE
Night<3
Back to top
EC Donation
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view
http://www.easycompanygaming.com Forum Index ->  COD2 Discussion
All times are UTC - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
No new posts back home 9 kenny_k 2230 Tue Mar 17, 2015 2:45 am
drhouse5524 View latest post
No new posts Back at it 4 Fade 1379 Sat Mar 14, 2015 11:55 am
Fade View latest post
No new posts Checking back in. 3 Durus 1854 Sun Dec 08, 2013 3:11 am
Durus View latest post
No new posts babes back 6 Rain 2540 Mon Dec 02, 2013 3:12 pm
nightmare View latest post
No new posts im back 3 Rain 1778 Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:14 pm
drhouse5524 View latest post




Powered By: phpBB © 2001 - 2013 phpBB Group
RD-Arma2_OA Theme Designed By: The Mortal RealmDesignz.com
Copyright © 2013 RealmDesignz.com All Rights Reserved
Forums ©
Back To Top
EasyCompanyGaming
RD-Arma2_OA Theme Designed By: The Mortal
Copyrights | Copyright © 2013 RealmDesignz.com