Anonymous
Please Login or Register  
Welcome to the new EC!
Random Babes   
 





Main Menu   
 

Event Calendar
 
October 2017
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
No events today.

Teamspeak   
 
IP: 174.127.65.20:8767

http://www.easycompanygaming.com :: View topic - Running COD2 on Windows 8.1
Forum Index  ·  Usergroups  ·  Members  ·  Edit your profile  ·  Search  ·  Login, Check Messages
Arcade  ·  Forum FAQ  ·  Ranks  ·  Board Rules  ·  Staff  ·  Statistics  ·  Log in


Search for at
http://www.easycompanygaming.com Advanced Search

 
 Recent Topics   Next 6 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
 Well this is it News, Updates & Input Rain 8 Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:38 pm
Lt_John_Wayne View latest post
 All Weapons AWE server down All Weapons Server drhouse5524 16 Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:12 pm
Artorias View latest post
 It's Finally Happening! General Discussion & Off Topic stunt 7 Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:27 am
SgtBaker View latest post
 Battlefield 1 BF4 Discussion nightmare 29 Sat Feb 04, 2017 6:01 am
Nickenstein View latest post
 Winter Break General Discussion & Off Topic -=EC=-Gimp 3 Tue Dec 27, 2016 5:17 pm
GaryBusey View latest post
 Windows 7 64 bit General Discussion & Off Topic -=EC=-Gimp 11 Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:51 pm
-=EC=-Gimp View latest post
Running COD2 on Windows 8.1
http://www.easycompanygaming.com Forum Index -> Help Desk
Post new topic Reply to topic printer-friendly view
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nickenstein
BOD
BOD


blank.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 31, 2013
Posts: 496

Reputation: 144.5

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:28 am Post subject: No icon Running COD2 on Windows 8.1 Reply with quote

For people having problems running COD2 on windows 8.1, I've found the following to work:
(I am using the CD version of COD2 and Win8.1. I assume it should also work for people with the Steam version, but I can't verify this. And there is always the possibility that the exe has been modified for digital re-release on Steam/Origin causing extra issues...)

EDIT: This is probably the same for Window-8.0, but I can't test that, as I have 8.1 on my machine.

1.) Set compatibility for Windows-XP-Service-Pack-3. (cod2mp_s.exe->RightClick->Properties->Compatibility)
2.) Aways run as Administrator. (Set this check-box on the compatibility dialogue panel)
3.) Have a USB headset plugged in, with a microphone (I think having some kind of mic connected is key to making the program boot up.)
4.) Once it starts, you have no mouse-pointer in the menu. Alt-tab to desktop and back to the game and then everything should work fine.

:)


Last edited by Nickenstein on Fri Nov 14, 2014 3:26 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
lecoyotte
Sr. Admin
Sr. Admin


france.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 29, 2013
Age: 46
Posts: 233
Location: france
Reputation: 94.4

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: micklecoyotte
Origin ID: lecoyotte59
Steam ID: lecoyotte

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:57 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Running COD2 on Windows 8.1 Reply with quote

thank Nick Wink
Back to top
Nickenstein
BOD
BOD


blank.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 31, 2013
Posts: 496

Reputation: 144.5

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:07 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Running COD2 on Windows 8.1 Reply with quote

No problem. Smile


Last edited by Nickenstein on Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:55 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
EC Donation
-=EC=-Gimp
BOD
BOD


usa.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 28, 2013
Posts: 777
Location: Chicago
Reputation: 203.7

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: olderwomen
Origin ID: Gimp63
Steam ID: Gimp63

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:51 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Running COD2 on Windows 8.1 Reply with quote

Thanks, Nick, you sexy man you!
Back to top
Nickenstein
BOD
BOD


blank.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 31, 2013
Posts: 496

Reputation: 144.5

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:43 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Running COD2 on Windows 8.1 Reply with quote

No worries, fella.

Did you post a link on the steam forums or should I do that? (I'll have to retrieve my steam password before I can do it...)


Last edited by Nickenstein on Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:55 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
-=EC=-Gimp
BOD
BOD


usa.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 28, 2013
Posts: 777
Location: Chicago
Reputation: 203.7

View user's profile Send private message

XFire: olderwomen
Origin ID: Gimp63
Steam ID: Gimp63

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:45 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Running COD2 on Windows 8.1 Reply with quote

I can doooooooooo it....when i've had less to drink....or, you can doooooooooooo it now.
Back to top
EC Donation
kenny_k
Sr. Admin
Sr. Admin


usa.png



Joined: Nov 11, 2013
Posts: 177
Location: fort pierce, florida
Reputation: 81.4

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:05 am Post subject: No icon Re: Running COD2 on Windows 8.1 Reply with quote

thanks nick. I guess the same is for win8.1. usb headset with mic, that's odd.
I stayed on win7 in fear of cod2 + some other older games I enjoy won't run. plus, it doesn't appear to be that much of an improvement (performance and stability) over win7? didn't see any real reason to upgrade. I could be wrong. I remember going from win95 to win98 was a must and winme to winxp a real must.
Back to top
Nickenstein
BOD
BOD


blank.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 31, 2013
Posts: 496

Reputation: 144.5

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:52 am Post subject: No icon Re: Running COD2 on Windows 8.1 Reply with quote

Ahh, yes. Good point, Kenny. I am actually using Windows 8.1.

I will update the thread title and my original post to reflect this (as Win 8.1 and Win 8.0 might be different for this, but it most likely works the same for 8.0 and 8.1...)

The thing is, I am using the CD version of COD2, and this is how I finally got it to work with Win8.1.
It's entirely possible that the Steam version of COD2 has been modified/recompiled for digital re-release, and so it could have additional problems that need to be worked around in a different manner...

My guess at why this microphone problem exists, is that the DirectSound component of DirectX works slightly differently on Windows-8/8.1 than it did in previous versions of Windows. So when the exe boots, it creates the DirectSound interface for microphone coms and on Windows 8/8.1 there is a bug in DirectSound that falsely reports the existence of a mic and tries to communicate with it, and this then crashes because there actually isn't one available.

Tomorrow I will do a quick test with my own game, and see if DirectSound sound falsely reports the existence of an attached microphone.
Back to top
kenny_k
Sr. Admin
Sr. Admin


usa.png



Joined: Nov 11, 2013
Posts: 177
Location: fort pierce, florida
Reputation: 81.4

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:18 am Post subject: No icon Re: Running COD2 on Windows 8.1 Reply with quote

thanks nick. that is interesting about the mic. it has to be a usb headset? I have the cd version too. is 8.1 really that good? they are working on a win10, skipping win9.
Back to top
EC Donation
Nickenstein
BOD
BOD


blank.png


Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Oct 31, 2013
Posts: 496

Reputation: 144.5

View user's profile Send private message


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:37 am Post subject: No icon Re: Running COD2 on Windows 8.1 Reply with quote

kenny_k wrote (View Post):
thanks nick. that is interesting about the mic. it has to be a usb headset? I have the cd version too. is 8.1 really that good? they are working on a win10, skipping win9.


Not sure if it needs to be USB (that's all I have to test).

As for upgrading to Win8: I hate it. It's awful. I need it for certain code development tools I use, that's the only reason I have it.
It certainly doesn't make COD2 run any better than WinXP or Win7 ever did.

Win8 is only better for gaming if the game needs more than 3.6gig of memory, or the game is optimised/developed for a 64bit operating system. (Modern stuff like Battlefield 4. Not ancient stuff like COD2).

So if you want to upgrade to Win8 just to make COD2 (or other old games) work better, you will be wasting your time and money.
Old games run exactly the same, and they usually have additional compatibility issues with Win8, like this microphone problem.

Don't bother with Win8, Kenny. Wink
Back to top
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view
http://www.easycompanygaming.com Forum Index ->  Help Desk
All times are UTC - 5 Hours [DST enabled]
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
No new posts back home 9 kenny_k 2035 Tue Mar 17, 2015 3:45 am
drhouse5524 View latest post
No new posts Back at it 4 Fade 1309 Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:55 pm
Fade View latest post
No new posts Checking back in. 3 Durus 1776 Sun Dec 08, 2013 4:11 am
Durus View latest post
No new posts babes back 6 Rain 2452 Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:12 pm
nightmare View latest post
No new posts im back 3 Rain 1710 Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:14 pm
drhouse5524 View latest post




Powered By: phpBB © 2001 - 2013 phpBB Group
RD-Arma2_OA Theme Designed By: The Mortal RealmDesignz.com
Copyright © 2013 RealmDesignz.com All Rights Reserved
Forums ©
Back To Top
EasyCompanyGaming
RD-Arma2_OA Theme Designed By: The Mortal
Copyrights | Copyright © 2013 RealmDesignz.com